Braving Tricare

I’ve been doing a lot of thinking lately about finding a good primary care physician. Theoretically I’m a big believer in preventative medicine, but I’ve never really been serious about acting on it. I’ve been in “good” health most of my life, so I rarely took an occasion to consider much beyond the odd clinic visit for this or that minor ailment. However, after having some time to digest Michael Pollan’s “The Omnivore’s Dillemma” (late to the party, I know), I’ve become more interested in a holistic approach to living.

It just makes so much sense. You can pay now (spending the money to eat well, taking preventative health measurements) or pay later (poor health, high medical bills), but either way you have to pay. Why not enjoy better tasting food and quality of life over the alternative?

Since I figured the best way to take charge of my health was to get some kind of physical and establish an up-to-date record, I decided to try and find out what I could about naturopathic doctors in the Coachella Valley area. I found two in Palm Desert and started comparing them only to discover that Tricare does not cover any expenses involving naturopathy including doctors. They are still licenced medical doctors as I understand it, so I don’t see why not.

This is all very discouraging. What’s the point of “great insurance” if you can’t get the care you’re interested in? Does anyone have any tips for finding a Tricare approved provider who also incorporates naturopathic practices?

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

