Re-read Deathly Hallows?

We’re almost halfway through May and for some reason, I’m getting the feeling it’s that time of year again for a Harry Potter marathon. I became a fan somewhere around the 3 Year Summer just before the release of the first movie, and I just miss not having some new release of Harry Potter book or movie to look forward to rolling into summer and fall. I was an avid midnight opener along with my group of friends, and it was just a great experience whenever something new came along. I definitely miss it.

That is, until I read Deathly Hallows.

How can I describe my experience of Deathly HallowsDeathly Hallows was like getting food poisoning from your favorite restaurant, and now you’re too scared to ever go back and eat there, even though the food was UH-MAY-ZING.

I have re-read every single book in the Potterverse cover to cover at least 3 times each (Prizoner of Azkaban and Order of the Phoenix, my favorites, I read about 5 times over). DH I picked up once the minute it was released, and never picked up again. Ever.

There was just so much to hate! The never ending camping trip, the out of the butt concept of deathly hallows, the deaths that she chose (oh I can afford to kill off Fred; there’s two of him anyway), I pretty much hated James, Sirius and Lily after that book, “Not my daughter, you bitch!” EYEROLLLLLLLLLLLL, the anticlimactic showdown, not enough Neville, how Slytherin house got SHAFTED in the end (no one stayed to fight? lol wut?)–the CRAPILOGUE! Give me a minute while I continue wretching into my keyboard.

How many years has it been since that book was released? Almost six? Over half a decade and I’m still not sure I can survive a re-read! It was that bad.

Oh, I’ve gotten over DH… slowly.  Only after lots of therapy involving purposely forgetting large chunks of the book and reading about how much others also hated it (Ren Hen essays, FTW) so I knew I couldn’t completely be off my rocker. Also, the movies helped a lot. Although I’m a firm believer that the books are better than the movies every time (and unlike many Potterheads, I’m not a movie hater), this was one arena where the movies CLEARLY outshone the books.

Maybe I just had low expectations for the final movies after reading DH, but I felt like they certainly couldn’t do much worse than Rowling herself already did. Hell, they might even do one better since they usually cut out a lot of stuff anyway. And after seeing the final films I actually came away feeling like they salvaged the series for me. Since I refused to re-read the books, I simply let the movie interpretation take over and mush into the fragments that had stuck in my brain from the book. And on screen, a lot of Rowling’s shit looked passable. But maybe I’m just appeased because they clearly fan-serviced the Neville x Luna shippers out there (guilty!).

Only after the ending of the Potterverse and me taking off some time to attend to “real life”, have I bothered recently to start treading into the fandom again. And part of me feels like I need to, you know, be a mature adult about this whole thing and give DH another shot. Well, I certainly can’t for the sake of maturity and fairness… but I might be able to if it were to salvage details for a potential fic…

So here I am, seriously considering a re-read so I can figure out just what I would change if I could. Not that I really have the talent to create something to rival DH en serio. But I’m not above some shameless reworking for the excuse to let my favorites traipse into each others arms *coughHermionecoughSnape* (because I’m dirty like that).

Has anyone read any well executioned alternatives to DH? Doesn’t even have to include my ships as long as the character development and plot is believable. Will also accept links to message board threads or essays expressing dissatisfaction over DH, because I’m needy for validation. 🙂

5 thoughts on “Re-read Deathly Hallows?

  1. Wow, I’ve never heard anybody say they really disliked it. It makes me want to reread it now and see what new conclusions I draw. The last time I read it was in high school. Though like you, I’ve read every single one of the books multiple times, I think I only read DH twice. I remember being very unhappy with the deaths, but I don’t think I was particularly unsatisfied.
    Interesting to read a new perspective.

    • When I read it I was approaching my Junior year in college so it may be that I had somewhat more built up expectations, but I still maintain that the Hallows were nothing more than poorly executed McGuffins. The 7th book dissenters are somewhat in the minority but not as uncommon as I originally supposed. Still love me some Harry Potter! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Dumbledore’s Army: Year of Darkness…? | Blood Stripe Wife

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

