Digimon Adventure 01: Butterfly

Literally started tearing up hearing this version of “Butterfly” after so many years. This version of the song combined with that fanart describes anything that could be beautiful in my childhood. At risk of sounding like an overly dramatic lunatic, Digimon was my lifeline as I eased out of adolescence. I and my siblings grew up in… challenging circumstances, shall we say, and I credit the show and its fandom for bringing joy and hope into a very, very dark time for us.

It was our one bright spot. It filled our minds and hearts and imaginations with possibilities and goodness, when our real life was caving in around us. It gave us friends even if they were imaginary (the DigiDestined) and through the internet (other fans). It was our secret rebellion. It was our hiding place. It was the one thing the four of us could agree on.

It introduced me to fandom and others who created beautiful art and fiction. It allowed me to express my anger through ship wars instead of self destructively. It reawakened my desire to connect to our Japanese roots.

It’s a part of me in a way that I feel few people would understand. The DigiDestined made it. Taichi, Sora, Hikari, Yamato, Takeru, Koushiro, Mimi and Jyou–they conquered File Island and survived. And we did too.

2 thoughts on “Digimon Adventure 01: Butterfly

  1. Wow, I’m so glad I went to your blog and found this post because I have goosebumps and am also teary-eyed. It’s my first time hearing this cover, but it’s great.

    Again, it really is glad to hear that Digimon meant–no, means–so much to you. I don’t know what else to say without reiterating everything, but I love the way you wrote about it, too. This, especially: “The DigiDestined made it. Taichi, Sora, Hikari, Yamato, Takeru, Koushiro, Mimi and Jyou–they conquered File Island and survived. And we did too.”

    So many hugs to your younger self, your siblings, and you right now. : )

    By the way, my thesis mate linked me to this piano version of Butterfly during our last day in school before graduation (so yes, there were tears), and though you grew up with the dubbed version, i’m sure you’ll appreciate this, too: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lboUNlnKIlY

    Thank you for sharing! : )

    • Thank you.

      Your kind words as a fellow Digimon fan really mean so much to me. I feel like you “get it”, because it was special to you too!

      Thanks for the great link; I used to listen to that version of “Butterfly” a lot, but I had never seen it with the accompanied video. It was really well done; the video captured the feelings of the song into one of my favorite episodes! Hooray!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

